Marbled Halvah

August 8, 2008

This high-calcium treat is common in Middle Eastern kitchens.  Made mostly of tahini (sesame paste), this is a great high-energy snack! I’ve created a version here with a chocolate swirl, but you can also leave it plain, or add chopped pistachios or dried fruits if you prefer.

This recipe will appear in my upcoming cookbook, Sweet Freedom, scheduled for publication in early 2009. To receive an email when the book is available, please click on “Sign Up to Order” at right, or email sweetfreedomcookbook@gmail.com

2 Responses to “Marbled Halvah”

  1. Courtney Says:

    OMG–if you have made a good tasting sugar free halvah recipe, my family will LOVE you! I have never been a fan, but my family has a strange passion for halvah. I have made it for gifts in the past, but always using powdered sugar. The one time I tried to not use refined sugar, it got all hard and crunchy and was not well received :o)

    WHEN is your cookbook coming out?!

    Courtney


  2. oh my goodness, I grew up loving halva. NOw if you can only make me one without sesame seeds (I have made one with brazil nuts, but it’s not the same)


Leave a Reply

